latinasypunto

Women are easily influenced by scams

In tips on May 23, 2010 at 3:38 am

A few days ago, as I was reading a blog called Target Latino I came across an interesting stat “45% of emails from companies or brands prove to be influential forms of marketing for women.” So this was very coincidental when yesterday I get a message on my work e-mail that said “Juanin Reid invites you to participate in an iPad review program.”  As I continued to read the e-mail it explained how a company called “Beta Inc Group” was looking
for 5,000 participants to review the Apple iPad for 2 months and as a reward we could keep the device.

Mmmm, I thought…Juanin Reid was a friend of a friend, and working in advertising I know of many companies that use consumer research to review products and gain feedback to make them better…but this offer not only seemed REALLY compelling but something in my gut didn’t feel right. I felt alert, alert this might be a scam!

So, how can we make the best decisions before giving a company our most precious information such as our mobile number and e-mail address?  This is when I thought I would write a post to share some tips as to what to do in cases like this:

First I made sure they were a legit company by…

1. Google-ing the company – if you find that they still have a pretty legit story then,
2. Look for them on twitter – most companies today have an online presence on social networks so if they don’t have a presence on twitter…facebook them
3. I then went ahead and looked for them on LinkedIn…if a company isn’t on this site- I’m not sure I can trust them
4. Finally I went to the blogosphere – and that’s when I found: geek.com – a site that had an entire article about this SCAM!

Bingo! Not only are they trying to get your information, but by signing up you are agreeing to pay a $10 monthly fee for some crazy mobile phone offer. WHAT??? Apparently this is happening all over the social networking world and I just want to make sure you are aware of this before you fall for it. This is how the scam works:

The scam pages typically take their intended victims through a three step process:

1) “Become a Fan” of the page;
2) “Invite your friends” to also become fans of the page, and take part in the “special promotion”;
3) “Claim” or “Apply” for your prize.

…and the worst part is that people on Facebook and twitter are falling for it, like seen below (what’s interesting is that they are all women):

So, may this come as some advice and warning that while social networking sites are a great place to share information, there are times when people abuse of this openness we are now used to.  Let’s not fall in the trap and let these so called “companies” influence our clicking behavior online just because we are women.  Being smart about what we do online can only enhance our experience with the digital world, and remember if it sounds to good to be true, then it probably is.

  1. nice post lili- and thanks for the tips! xoxox

    • Thanks darling, glad you came to visit and found the post useful! Let me know if there are any new topics you are interested in reading about. 🙂

  2. Thanks

Leave a Reply

